75th Anniversary Re-union Dinner

On Saturday 10th November the Buninyong & District Tennis Association celebrated its 75th Anniversary with a re-union dinner held at Doherty's Ballarat Lodge.

Approximately 370 people past and present players attended the dinner, along with guests from Tennis Victoria, VCTA and Local, State and Federal Members of Parliament.   MC Jeff Sly did a wonderful job hosting the evening which included interviews with ex president of the Association Danny Spruce & Ladies Midweek Secretary Carolyn Rutherford and the launch of "75 Years of Buninyong Tennis 1933 - 2008" a history book complied by Peter Griffiths and Les George from written records, accounts from past players and many photographs.  A number of these photographs were projected onto a screen throughout the night bringing back wonderful memories for a lot of the guests.

The dinner also saw the launch of Association's new logo, along with the cutting of an anniversary cake  in the shape of a tennis court, made by Isabelle Hutchinson. 

Commemorative glasses were given out to those in the room who were 75 years or older.

75th Anniversary cake

A highlight of the evening was the induction of Stan Hunter as a Life Member of the Association.  Stan is the15th inductee as a life member.  Stan began his tennis career at Scotsburn and later moved to Yendon. In 1981 he formed the Harbours Road Tennis Club.  In 1986 he rejoined Yendon.  He was president of Yendon from 1976 to 1981 and later, both president for three years and secretary for five years. He is one of three Life Members at Yendon.  Stan was Association Vice President from 1981- 84 and 1988-1994.  He was also actively involved in organising junior country week, junior championships and association tournaments for many years.

For more photos from the re-union dinner please click on the links below

Photos from the reunion dinner
More photos from the reunion dinner

History books and a DVD of the evening are available.  For further details or copies of photos from the evening please contact the Secretary, Clare Beacham clare_beacham@hotmail.com